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Media Release

State of Nevada’s Move Over Law

Being a Nevada Highway Patrol Trooper comes with inherent dangers. One of those dangers is
being struck while on a traffic stop or investigating an accident. Within the past 60 days, 7 NHP
vehicles have been struck while performing these duties, sending 1 Trooper to the hospital with
injuries. Many drivers are unaware of Nevada’s Move Over Law (NRS 484B.607). It is in place to
protect Troopers, as well as Officers from other agencies, from this danger.

The law reads as follows:

NRS 484B.607 Duties of driver when approaching authorized emergency vehicle which is
stopped and using flashing lights or tow car which is stopped and using flashing amber
warning lights; penalty.

1. Upon approaching an authorized emergency vehicle which is stopped and is making use
of flashing lights meeting the requirements of subsection 3 of NRS 484A.480 or a tow car which is
stopped and is making use of flashing amber warning lights meeting the requirements of NRS
484B.748, the driver of the approaching vehicle shall, in the absence of other direction given by a
peace officer:
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(a) Decrease the speed of the vehicle to a speed that is:
(1) Reasonable and proper, pursuant to the criteria set forth in subsection 1 of NRS
484B.600; and
(2) Less than the posted speed limit, if a speed limit has been posted;
(b) Proceed with caution;
(c) Be prepared to stop; and
(d) If possible, drive in a lane that is not adjacent to the lane in which the emergency vehicle
or tow car is stopped, unless roadway, traffic, weather or other conditions make doing so unsafe or
impossible.
2. A person who violates subsection 1 is guilty of a misdemeanor.

A driver who violates this law is facing a fine up to $395.00 and 4 points on their
driver’s license. The consequences could even be more severe if you happen to hurt or even kill a
Trooper/Officer.

Troopers wear bright colored safety vests and use emergency flashing lights on their
patrol vehicles to warn oncoming traffic of possible hazards or road closures.

We want our Troopers, as well as other agency’s Officers, here in southern Nevada to
be as safe as possible. We want to make the motoring public aware of this law so they know what
to do when approaching an emergency vehicle on the side of the road or even in the travel lane.

SLOW DOWN AND BE SAFE!
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