Brian Sandoval Governor



Chris Perry Director

Troy L. Abney *Chief* Nevada Highway Patrol

September 17, 2012

Trooper Barb Stapleton, Public Information Officer Nevada Highway Patrol- Northern Command West 357 Hammill Lane, Reno Nevada 89511 Off. (775) 689-4680 Cell (775) 434-9224 bstapleton@dps.state.nv.us

Media Advisory

25 Graduates of the Nevada Department of Public Safety Academy to Receive Their Badges on Thursday, September 20, 1012 in Carson City

What: Thursday, September 20, 2012, twenty five of Nevada's newest law enforcement officers will graduate form the Nevada Department of Public Safety's training academy in Carson City. After spending almost five months learning the fundamental skills to serve as Highway Patrol Troopers, Parole and Probation Officers, and Capital Police Officers, the men and women of the DPS academy class #66 will recite the official oath of office to serve and protect the State of Nevada, and will receive their badges. Ten graduates will be assigned to the Highway Patrol Division, fourteen will be assigned to the Parole and Probation Division, and one will be assigned to the Capitol Police Division.

Where: Carson Nugget Casino Ballroom
Time: 11:00 a.m.
Address: 507 N. Carson Street, Carson City, Nevada 89702
Key Note Speaker: U.S. Attorney Daniel Bogden
Oath Administered by: Justice James Hardesty

Additionally, the following chiefs from the Nevada Department of Public Safety may be in attendance: DPS director Chris Perry

DPS Deputy Director James Wright Nevada Highway Patrol Chief Troy L. Abney Parole and Probation Chief Bernie Curtis Capitol Police Chief Thomas Navin Investigation Division Chief Elizabeth Conboy Fire Marshal Chief Pete Mulvihill Emergency Management Chief Chris Smith Records and Technology Chief Pat Conmay

- Page 1 of 2 -

Administrative Services • Capitol Police • Criminal Justice Assistance • Emergency Management • Homeland Security Emergency Response Commission • State Fire Marshal • Investigations • Highway Patrol • Office of Traffic Safety • Parole and Probation Records and Technology • Board of Parole Commissioners • Training • Office of Professional Responsibility The following roster details each member's assignment and duty station location:

Name:

DPS Division:

Duty Station:

Bernardo Abarca **David Bickel** Christopher Brown Efrain Castillo **Christopher Clifton** Colter Earl Andrew Granata Cheryl Hawkes **Tristan Hutchison** Matthew Lietz Ashley Mangan **Ross Miller** Ashlee Miller Matthew Miller Patrick O'Keefe **James Phillips** Cameron pier Kenneth Rodrigues Elizabeth Salzer Sean Scott Matthew Smith Michael Thompson Mallory Triplett Kevin Vostinar **Teresa Wheeler**

Parole& Probation NHP NHP NHP Parole & Probation NHP NHP Parole & Probation Parole & Probation **Capitol Police** Parole & Probation NHP Parole & Probation Parole & Probation Parole & Probation NHP Parole & Probation NHP Parole & Probation Parole & Probation NHP Parole & Probation Parole & Probation NHP Parole & Probation

LasVegas Hawthorne Winnemucca Tonopah Las Vegas Las Vegas Wendover Las Vegas Reno Carson City Las Vegas Pahrump Carson City Las Vegas Las Vegas Winnemucca Reno Alamo Reno Las Vegas Moapa Las Vegas Las Vegas Moapa Las Vegas

XXXX

Administrative Services • Capitol Police • Criminal Justice Assistance • Emergency Management • Homeland Security Emergency Response Commission • State Fire Marshal • Investigations • Highway Patrol • Office of Traffic Safety • Parole and Probation Records and Technology • Board of Parole Commissioners • Training • Office of Professional Responsibility