Brian Sandoval Governor



James Wright Director

Dennis Osborn Chief Nevada Highway Patrol

Nevada Highway Patrol <u>https://nhp.nv.gov</u> Like us on <u>Facebook</u> follow us on <u>Twitter</u>

February 20, 2015

Trooper Dave Gibson Nevada Highway Patrol – Northern Command Public Information Officer dgibson@dps.state.nv.us (775) 434-9128

Media Release

One Injured and One Arrested after Auto-Pedestrian Crash in Sun Valley

On Thursday, February 19, 2015 at approximately 12:30 in the afternoon, Troopers from the Nevada Highway Patrol were dispatched to a vehicle versus pedestrian injury accident that occurred on Sun Valley Blvd just north of 5th Avenue in Sun Valley.

The crash investigation details indicate a 2004 white GMC Yukon driven by 47 year old female Wendy Wright-Roberts of Reno was traveling southbound on Sun Valley Blvd in the right travel lane just north of 5th Ave. For reasons unknown at this time Ms. Wright-Roberts allowed the vehicle to leave the highway on the west side of the highway where it struck 42 year old Bernadette Akiu of Sun Valley who was walking southbound on the shoulder.

After the accident Ms. Wright-Roberts stopped at the scene of the accident and cooperated with law enforcement officers. Ms. Akiu was transported to Renown via REMSA with serious but non-life threatening injuries. After field sobriety tests were conducted on scene in which Ms. Wright-Roberts did not pass and she was placed under arrest for DUI of a controlled or prohibited substance.

The southbound right lane of Sun Valley Blvd was closed for several hours while the accident scene was investigated and diagramed. This area of Sun Valley Blvd is two lanes in each direction with a center turn lane and the speed limit is 35 mph.

NHP officials have been informed that the victim, Ms. Akiu suffered a broken hip, spinal fractures, broken ribs and a lacerated spleen. She is recovering and resting at Renown Hospital.

Page 1 of 2

Administrative Services • Capitol Police • Criminal Justice Assistance • Emergency Management • Homeland Security Emergency Response Commission • State Fire Marshal • Investigations • Highway Patrol • Office of Traffic Safety • Parole and Probation Records and Technology • Board of Parole Commissioners • Training • Office of Professional Responsibility Under Nevada's Illegal Per Se law, if chemical tests show an alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or above (0.04 percent for commercial licensees) or a certain concentration of a prohibited substance, the State of Nevada will revoke the offender's drivers license, assess a fine, and impose a sentence, with increased penalties for prior convictions. NOTE: A person can be arrested and convicted of DUI, even with less than a 0.08 percent alcohol concentration, with sufficient evidence that the person was under the influence of alcohol and/or a controlled substance (includes prescription and over-the-counter medications). See generally NRS 484C.110 et seq.

Trooper Karen Garretson of the Nevada Highway Patrol's Multi-Disciplinary Investigation and Reconstruction Team (MIRT) is investigating this incident. Anyone who may have witnessed this incident or who may have information related to this incident is encouraged to reach out to her at (775) 689-4625 or kgarretson@dps.state.nv.us regarding case number NHP-150201577.



Administrative Services • Capitol Police • Criminal Justice Assistance • Emergency Management • Homeland Security Emergency Response Commission • State Fire Marshal • Investigations • Highway Patrol • Office of Traffic Safety • Parole and Probation Records and Technology • Board of Parole Commissioners • Training • Office of Professional Responsibility