Brian Sandoval Governor



James M. Wright

Director

Julie Butler

Administrator

Records, Communications & Compliance

Nevada Department of Public Safety Records, Communications & Compliance Division

Contact Kim Y. Smith
Public Information Officer, DPS Director's Office
M: 775-309-9144 ky.smith@dps.state.nv.us

November 29, 2017 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## Media Release

## Notice Regarding Voluntary Background Checks for Private Party Firearms Transfers

*Nevada* - Pursuant to the Nevada Attorney General's Opinion 2016-12, the mandatory background check requirements of Initiative Petition Question 1 have not been enforced for the private party transfer of firearms. However, the Nevada Department of Public Safety, as the State Point of Contact under the Brady Handgun Violence and Prevention Act of 1993, clarifies that voluntary background checks between private parties are both permitted and encouraged in accordance with the Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF) Procedure 2017-1.

ATF Procedure 2017-1 outlines the process that private parties and federally licensed firearms dealers must use if the federally licensed firearms dealers are going to conduct voluntary private party background checks. ATF Procedure 2017-1 can be found on the ATF's website at https://www.atf.gov/firearms/docs/ruling/atf-procedure-2017-1-facilitating-non-ffl-transfers-firearms. Consistent with ATF Procedure 2017-1, the Nevada Department of Public Safety's Central Repository for Nevada Records of Criminal History will conduct these voluntary private party background checks. Private parties seeking such checks will need to contact a federally licensed firearms dealer, which will request such a check directly from the Department of Public Safety's Central Repository because of Nevada's status as a Point of Contact state.

The Department of Public Safety's Central Repository will not charge the \$25.00 background check fee for federally licensed firearms dealers to conduct voluntary background checks between private parties before the transfer of a firearm. The \$25.00 fee will remain in effect for all other transactions directly with a federally licensed firearms dealer.

###