Criteria For Becoming a Law Enforcement Officer
Criteria for Becoming A Law Enforcement Officer
The basic law enforcement training lasts approximately 15 weeks and is based on a 40-hour week. Your time at the Academy is paid. The Academy classes are held at the Training Division in Carson City, Nevada.
- Must be 21 years of age at the time of appointment
- Must be a U.S. citizen at the time of appointment
The Department of Public Safety has a moral and ethical obligation to select only the most qualified applicants for our law enforcement positions. Background investigations ensure that we select only those individuals of impeccable moral character and uncompromising integrity. You will not be appointed if any of the following applies to you:
- Conviction of a felony in the State of Nevada or a conviction in another state which would be a felony if committed in this State
- Conviction of any offense involving illegal sale or manufacture of controlled substances
- Conviction of D.U.I. within the last five years, or two D.U.I. convictions in a lifetime
- Domestic violence conviction
- Any illegal use of a controlled substance within one year of the date of application including prescription drugs not prescribed to you
- Intentional falsification, deception or omission of information during the application and background investigation process
You must be able to obtain a valid Nevada Class C driver's license and must have the ability to obtain both a radio operator's certificate and a radar operator's certificate.